Notion Ink

There and back again!

Posted in Uncategorized by Rohan Shravan on January 12, 2011

Hello All,

Adam has already reached some of its owners. While our friends in US and Europe might have to wait bit more since we are awaiting CE and FCC approvals (passed all the tests), I thought I should give more details on Adam. Posted below are some of the images taken from Adam. Camera quality is really very good, and if you are into photography, Adam might come in handy. The swivel nature would allow you to scan documents as well and auto-focus function will help in that a lot! But beware, Adam is a big device when compared to a camera, and you’ll have to hold Adam with more stability. Those (like me) who are a fan of macro mode, would simply love Adam. One thing which you can notice is, Adam does not have flash. IMHO, flash is only useful in 5% of the cases. You use flash when light is low, and end up with glares and washed out regions. So make sure you have good lighting around when you use any camera (I hope those will photography experience will comment on this and we can learn more on this new topic).


FCC and CE. Though for a company doing business IN the respective countries can’t sell product without these certifications, global business does not have any such restrictions, and over all these contradiction makes things confusing. For example, as a customer you can buy a product without these certifications online. We will opt for the safer side and wait for the final confirmation and then ship it to you (little more patience please :) ).
At CES we all learnt about Honeycomb. At Notion Ink we were aware of this project and could guess what modules were being improved, and made Eden so things are compatible. As such there are no official (as per our record and few online sources) there are no hardware restrictions, and when Honeycomb is available, we will send updates as soon as possible. For Motorola to have access to Honeycomb, NVidia first MUST have access to make it stable on Tegra and resolve any issue. They give to us OEMs what is called, a BSP (Board Support package) and then only OEMs can work on it. As of now Honeycomb is a work in progress, and would take little more time than we think for its public availability (for an instance, Android took almost 18 months to become stable on various Tablet platforms).
Eden requires lot more than traditional Android elements. For example, even simple things like 3 leaves requiring Keyboard focus, does not exist in Android. These are ‘view’ features and this is exactly what is getting a lot of improvement on Honeycomb (along with a lot more things). We are expecting a lot of graphic improvements. For instance, on the Panel system you can see that the animation though is fast is not smooth. Reason is, that the parameters chosen were for a small screen, where you 5% movement is only 0.125 inch (say), but on a tablet it’s around 0.5inch.
Times ahead are far more interesting because Notion Ink is just not software, it stands for design, for new hardware and for innovation. And if Google is doing innovation on Software front, what would Notion Ink be doing on other fronts?? :)

(I just arrived, off to some rest now!)

With Warm Regards

Rohan Shravan

1,489 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ronak Rathod said, on January 12, 2011 at 04:46

    first

    • Joshua Price said, on January 12, 2011 at 04:47

      I’m so proud of you. Thank you for your input.

    • Paul Schoe said, on January 12, 2011 at 14:46

      ;-)

    • Abdelhak said, on January 12, 2011 at 05:06

      Second :)

    • JonEP said, on January 12, 2011 at 05:38

      Rohan,

      Can you just confirm that when Honeycomb becomes available, those already using 1st Gen Adams will be able to upgrade their devices? I think you are trying to say that, but it’s still not clear to me. Thanks.
      Jon

    • PK said, on January 12, 2011 at 06:57

      that is what he said. once NVidea delivers the BSP, NI will push the udpate to the current adam version. it is very clear and so far there are no hardware restrictions for the 1st gen adam to have honeycomb.

    • Rajendra said, on January 12, 2011 at 08:33

      +1. Yep that’s a obvious reason. NI wants to hang on for long so they would update asap. Rohan, please have a peaceful sleep and in the next post update about pre-order 2( I think you are waiting for pre-orders 1 to be all delivered and see the response, that would be too late for us :( ).

    • sujithprathap said, on January 12, 2011 at 09:44

      +1. If honeycomb goes through Tegra Compatibility check then I presume that implies that the Adam becomes compatible with Honeycomb.Thanks for the Heads up Rohan.

    • rahim said, on January 12, 2011 at 11:49

      Excellent!
      Welcome back :)

  2. jared said, on January 12, 2011 at 04:46

    nice

  3. Joshua Price said, on January 12, 2011 at 04:46

    So glad to hear that people are getting their devices!

  4. elliot hunter said, on January 12, 2011 at 04:46

    Did I beat Greg? :)

    • Greg said, on January 12, 2011 at 04:47

      Yes….. :-(

    • elliot hunter said, on January 12, 2011 at 04:48

      Yessssssss!
      Ok now to read the post hehe

    • sujithprathap said, on January 12, 2011 at 09:44

      +1. Greg people are catching up.

  5. Greg said, on January 12, 2011 at 04:46

    ;-)

    • Greg said, on January 12, 2011 at 04:52

      All good news. Thanks Rohan.

      However, would you please clarify one thing? Do you already have the FCC and CE numbers printed on the tablets so that they are ready to ship or do you still have to print them on before shipping?

      Thanks again. Adam is awesome! I can’t wait!!!

    • Rohan Shravan said, on January 12, 2011 at 05:04

      For the countries where it is required, markings need to be there. Within a week there will be no distinction but right now there are 2 sets. First a smaller one where we shipped to those where there isn’t any requirement, and next is with labeling. How are you going? :) (Off to some rest now)
      Regards

    • Zach said, on January 12, 2011 at 05:25

      Thank you Rohan, please enjoy your well-earned rest.
      I look forward to seeing the user reviews in the meantime!!!

    • Greg said, on January 12, 2011 at 05:37

      I’m doing really well and will be even better once I get my Adam! Thanks for asking. :-D

      So it sounds like it may take a little longer for those of us living in countries that require the labels. Maybe I should move to a different country for a while. ;-)

      Yes, go get some much needed and well deserved rest! You have had a very busy week. We really appreciate you keeping us informed and look forward to receiving our Adam tablets them once they can be shipped.

      Though if you wanted to ship me one without a label, I won’t tell the FCC… j/k

    • Ravi said, on January 12, 2011 at 05:58

      @Rohan
      We all wanted Greg to review it first. Please ship one w/o label, I think he is happy to receive label later.

    • elmelao said, on January 12, 2011 at 06:15

      +1

    • PK said, on January 12, 2011 at 06:59

      +2 :-)

    • Wally West said, on January 12, 2011 at 08:58

      Yes let Greg Have His Adam!!!!

    • sujithprathap said, on January 12, 2011 at 09:49

      +1. Yeah give Greg his Adam!!

    • Jayachandran said, on January 12, 2011 at 10:44

      +10000
      yep . GTA (greg touches adam ) :)

    • raja52 said, on January 12, 2011 at 11:05

      yes, please!

      PLEASE give him immediately. He deserves and he will tell others how to get the best out of Adam!

    • Rajendra said, on January 12, 2011 at 08:36

      Please for me 2 ( I am fine with out label as long as its adam).

    • Joshua Price said, on January 12, 2011 at 10:48

      +1
      I can apply the label myself. Just ship me some glue, and one of those plastic scraper thingies…

      Or email me the number, and I’ll pay to have it laser-engraved on the back, if it’ll mean getting it soon…

    • Andromeda said, on January 12, 2011 at 12:14

      Yeah, I bet he’s dying to get his hands on the tablet. I’m sure most of you would be thrilled to get one without the label (and receive the label later or not), but there is a side you’re not considering – would the customs office release the tablet to you if the device didn’t have the certification on it? I’m positive for my country that I would never get the tablet since I was specifically told the device must have CE certification or else such item would not clear customs. :( Sorry for being a bit of a killjoy..

    • Greg said, on January 12, 2011 at 18:47

      Wow! I was gone for a while and just got back to see this. I am appreciative of everyone’s support and enthusiasm. It really means a lot to me!!! :-D

      Though I think Rohan’s hands are tied and he will not be able to send my Adam any sooner than the FCC will allow. But if I am wrong and find a nice surprise at my door some time soon, I will be sure to post video and comments for everyone as quickly as possible.

      Based on my pre-order and estimated shipping date I really did think I would be one of the first to receive my Adam, and I had several ideas for videos and reviews that would address specific questions most people have. But now I will wait and see what others post online before I get mine, and then address any remaining questions, etc. I will probably repeat coverage of some topics to give my personal view point, but hope to provide as much new and original information as possible. I mean, how many unboxing videos do we need, right?

      Thanks again everyone. Your comments like this make all the time I spend online chasing Notion Ink news and writing on blogs, etc really worth it! ;-)

      @Everyone +1000

    • Biswajit saha said, on January 12, 2011 at 21:41

      Hi greg, great work done for CES, your shortcut link helped tons of people to connect with Adam at CES.

    • Paul Schoe said, on January 12, 2011 at 22:59

      @Biswajit saha Greg’s shortcut links were indeed a great tool to keep track of all the great Adam reviews and of all the comments that Notion Ink fans published there :roll:

    • Biswajit saha said, on January 12, 2011 at 23:08

      @Paul, Indeed. Apart from my 10+ tab i was also glued to greg’s link.

    • elliot hunter said, on January 12, 2011 at 22:10

      greg,
      i think you should do an unboxing video, then give it to me! (not the box!)

      sounds fair right? ;)

      i’ll just let you think it over and you can get back to me on that.
      i think you’ll make the right choice. :)

    • Manish said, on January 12, 2011 at 09:51

      take some rest.. :D

    • Prema said, on January 12, 2011 at 12:21

      Why not just sticking a label on the bottom side of the microsdh/SIM trays?
      Wouldn´t that look better and match the attention the CE & FCC deserves? ;-)

    • Veeraraagavan said, on January 12, 2011 at 12:24

      @Rohan, those countries, where labels are not required, you will send the labels as a shipment later or you are sending the Adams with blank spaces where one can fill the numbers once you have them and post in this blog/ official site?

      BTW, take some rest Bro, you need it ! :)

    • Veeraraagavan said, on January 12, 2011 at 12:38

      Clarification:
      Well people, what I meant here was:
      Though I know that NI is sending without labels to countries where it is not a requirement – these people might relocate in future – and it would be handy if they had the CE and FCC numbers on the device. So in effect, it would be my suggestion that NI ships them the labels (after confirming that they can send label(s) to the same shipping address as their Adam).

      or Have labels with blank spaces, where the end customers can later fill in the numbers – using permanent stickers or markers.

    • Paul Schoe said, on January 12, 2011 at 14:52

      @ Veeraraagavan

      I agree. Although the CE and FCC codes of my devices have never been checked when traveling, I would hate it when they take my Adam from me when I am entering the US or Europe, so getting a label anyway would be absolutely great service.

    • Greg said, on January 12, 2011 at 05:43

      And the photos do look really good. I would not have known they were taken with a tablet. I will get a lot of use out of Adam’s camera.

      I’d ask you to put up a video recorded on the the Adam but it will get modified by Google as you upload it. So you would have to host the original video file it on a web server and provide a download link so we can get the raw footage and play it locally on our computers. Thought I’d mention that just in case… Hint Hint ;-)

    • Veeraraagavan said, on January 12, 2011 at 12:43

      @ Greg,
      Yup, the photos really look good. Though many here might have better camera phones or digital cameras, having a good cam with you (in Adam), could turn out to be priceless – to capture those special moments, which you might miss otherwise!

    • Greg said, on January 12, 2011 at 18:56

      Yep, I use the crappy camera on my phone all the time “because I have it with me”. So I’m sure I’ll get even more use from Adam’s camera.

      One unique use is for those of us who have a hard time reading really small print like on circuit boards, etc. I generally don’t have a magnifying glass with me so I take a quick snapshot and then view it on the display and zoom in on it to read the small print. It works well on my small phone so it will be even better on the Adam.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,720 other followers

