Notion Ink

Republic Day!

Posted in Uncategorized by Rohan Shravan on January 26, 2011

Dear All,

Happy Republic Day to the world! India is one of the better examples of the Democratic Countries in the world. None is as diverse and complex to understand as India is. I have always felt, it’s not a country but continent in itself, sometimes for the good and for the bad. The good part comes when we see and observe the variations in languages, cultures and history. And the bad part comes when I see a division, more states, communal fights, etc. It’s a mixed experience to be here, because from Switzerland to Sahara desert, India has its own instance of every climate, ecological balance or geographic state. This reminds me of one instance when we were making reliability report. We suggested that device should work from -3 to 50 DegC and our Chinese counterpart said, no city will have that temperature range. We told them, Delhi is our capital! :)

Coming back to the quick updates:

  • All next batches will have the updates pre-installed. Our team will get in touch with all the individual customers and help them install the update, so there are no ‘bricking’ issues.
  • Next Order stage is starting soon. We are just ensuring that from Mastercard to Banking issues would not be there this time.
  • All the members of the NotionAddicts, NotionInkHacks, NotionInkFan and those who commented before 22nd of January WILL be the part of the next pre-order.
  • Few blogs reported about the source of Mail’d. I remember posted either in  blog or comments, that Mail’d, is indeed based on K9 and is an open source application, and along with the K9 source, our work will also be there in the source code. Jesse (K9 Project Founder) and we at Notion Ink are thrilled with the opportunities of working together.
  • XDA community, we love you! :)
  • Chinese New Year is coming, and we are ensuring that the vendors doesn’t loosen up :|

[Update: Removed for the reason we will soon learn! :) ]

With Warm Regards

Rohan Shravan

1,056 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mohammad said, on January 26, 2011 at 10:26

    First Yay

    • Mohammad said, on January 26, 2011 at 10:29

      Sitting here patiently waiting for Gregs Review….hehhh

    • albert wertz said, on January 26, 2011 at 11:04

      Greg update: UPDATE: I’m sorry for the delay. I had some things come up and I could not spend as much time with my Adam tonight as I wanted to. But I did get Part 1 of the unboxing video done and I am rendering right now. I will upload it soon, though YouTube will take a while to make it available since I did it at 1080p…

      It turns out my Adam was opened and at least handled by someone. There were fingerprints on it, etc. You will see in the video. But it seems to be just fine. I will be checking with the shipping companies first thing tomorrow. I’ll let you know what I find out.

      I’ve literally only had about 20 minutes of use so far but everything seems great. I will use it as much as possible tomorrow and try to get part 2 of the video done and online tomorrow night. By then I can also report on my first impression…

      I’m dead tired and have another early and full day tomorrow so I am going to bed as soon as the video is online.

      –Greg

      This sounds like a prank some of the med students have been doing to each other… when you turn your computer on, after getting up to go to the bathroom, you are promptly greeted by a profane site someone pulled up on your PC while you were away. It also happens to be your luck that an advisor walks by while you open your laptop and notice it yourself… They look at you in disappointment and shake their head…

      hope it wasn’t man handled too bad greg! Check the prints for Rohan!

    • Mohammad said, on January 26, 2011 at 11:49

      Thanks for the update Albert, hard to keep up with all the adam news of late. You should see my Chrome browser, i have about 50 tabs open and probably 20 of those are adam related. Ive noticed you on almost every adam related page out there. Your worse then i am..haaaaaa

  2. zoltans4 said, on January 26, 2011 at 10:27

    :)

    • Simon said, on January 26, 2011 at 14:33

      ” We suggested that device should work from -3 to 50 DegC ”

      I think its a bit narrow minded not to make adam work in colder temperatures. Especially since a lot of major cities have average temperatures during the winter which are far below -3°C.

      This is todays temperature in the following cities:

      Moscow: -11°C
      Stockholm: -6°C
      New York City: -5°C
      Oslo: -17°C
      Helsinki: -14°C

      In Russia, northern parts of USA and in scandinavia it can easily go down to even below -20°C.

      Nokias smartphones works fine between -15°C – +55°C
      Samsung Galaxy S works between -20°C – +50°C
      Sony Ericsson (all smartphones) works between -10°C – +45°C

      Just Sayin’ ….

      Also, I don’t think it’s wise to start promoting Adam2 before most people haven’t had the chance to buy adam1 yet. They might get the feeling Adam2 is just around the corner and decide not to buy your precious first born.

      Otherwise I think you’re doing a great job with adam. Keep it up and be sure to push out Honeycomb to all devices the moment it gets released! :)

      Happy Republic Day! (have to google that one….)

    • clockcycle said, on January 27, 2011 at 01:14

      IMHO I don’t think anyone would be standing outside in that temperature worried about using their Adam or anything else for that matter, and more worried about getting inside and warmer..

      I don’t know if there would be many locations indoors that would be -3°C..

    • Simon said, on January 27, 2011 at 03:12

      I use my smartphone alot while waiting for the bus out in the cold way below -3C (i live in Sweden).
      I won’t be able to do that with the adam though. I guess it’s not that big of a deal, but anyway. It would have been nice.

      BUT… when I actually don’t think adam will stop working completely below -3C .. I guess the screen only gets slower and maybe the battery life drains faster.

  3. gecko said, on January 26, 2011 at 10:27

    never first. It’s a matter of principle with me.

    • Himanshu said, on January 26, 2011 at 10:38

      lol :)

    • Cathy said, on January 26, 2011 at 10:54

      Too dangerous for lizards, and for me :)

    • Raj said, on January 26, 2011 at 11:01

      gieco :) fifteen minutes could save you fifteen comments are more

    • Pankil said, on January 26, 2011 at 11:45

      +1 LOL!

    • Gabe said, on January 26, 2011 at 12:06

      Best Gecko related line I’ve heard in a while. Well done Raj!

    • Priyam said, on January 26, 2011 at 12:13

      good one… as it is, the early gecko gets caught by the bird…. :)

    • GroundSit said, on January 26, 2011 at 14:30

      good one yourself! ;)

    • Prantha said, on January 26, 2011 at 14:37

      I’m always last.
      ;-)

  4. Jaren said, on January 26, 2011 at 10:28

    Nice

  5. Silver Stratton said, on January 26, 2011 at 10:28

    Hey Rohan,

    While I appreciate that the update will automatically be installed, Do we know when the update will be downloadable for current adam owners?

    • albert wertz said, on January 26, 2011 at 10:38

      update available with Flash rom
      “http://www.notioninkfan.com/2011/01/warning-do-not-update-your-adam.html#comments”

      read it further

    • Silver Stratton said, on January 26, 2011 at 10:45

      Hey Albert, thanks for the heads up.

      While I’m fine with flashing the rom. However, I’m pretty sure other users may not be. My question is when it’ll actually be available from the update adam button.

    • albert wertz said, on January 26, 2011 at 10:47

      This is very true, as my father has yet to apply his update because he has no idea how to flash a rom and has never tried it before. He said he would attempt it tomorrow…


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,666 other followers

