Notion Ink

The Color I want!

Posted in Uncategorized by Rohan Shravan on September 28, 2010

Hello there!

This post is in continuation of the last one were we discussed about the color options. I am placing few images here, you can check all and then vote for the ones you like later in the post! (Don’t forget to read the names on the images!) (Also remember, we will be choosing the best ones for production! The final Pantones might differ slightly)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here goes your poll! (Remember you can vote for at max 2 designs)

With Regards

Rohan Shravan

368 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lauri said, on September 28, 2010 at 17:59

    On my screen the grey in “4 – grey white” looked bit greenish or brownish. I hope that’s not just a rendering issue, but it would look like exactly that. Little better than just grayscale :)

    • paradisestate said, on September 28, 2010 at 18:53

      It looked brownish to me. I really liked it brown.

    • Brian said, on September 28, 2010 at 19:09

      Yes, it was yellow/brownish… I was hoping for a brown/bronze variant =(

    • inmypjs said, on September 30, 2010 at 01:33

      Check out the new laptop from Gateway. I think the grey in this White+Grey scheme is more like that kind of brown/bronze color.

      http://cache.gawkerassets.com/assets/images/4/2010/09/gateway_nv59c66u_in_brown.jpg

    • Tarwinia said, on September 28, 2010 at 20:28

      Yeah, it looks greenish brownish to me too. It actually looks like one of those military colours and the white looks like ivory, not just plain white.

    • inmypjs said, on September 29, 2010 at 04:50

      It’s like burnt yellow, I think it’s called fatigue. It’s a military color. I’m not liking it at all unless i’m in the military.

    • Andrew said, on September 29, 2010 at 21:40

      The Grey White is my favorite out of all of the options. I like that the grey is not exactly grey but more of an oliveish color, same for the white that it is a more off white/ivory not pure white. To me it makes it look much nicer than the bigger winner so far (Titanium Black/Titanium Grey.) The Titanium Black/Titanium Grey versions look too bland, but If I had to choose (had being the key word) I would take the Titanium Grey.

      I would like to see the top 5 in a wider view like the Red and Black was rendered. Also, how many variants are gonna be chosen? I hope the top 4 or 5 would be nice (I really like the grey white variant and its the 5th out of 9.)

    • Kumar said, on September 29, 2010 at 06:59

      Same for me. Looked quite greenish (and lovely combination) so I was surprised to see it labelled “grey white”. I have little bit of red-green color blindness though.

    • PJ said, on October 4, 2010 at 02:46

      Are you kidding me! Grey+White has surge ahead of Metallic Blue??! :( C’mon people that’s not cool!

    • inmypjs said, on October 6, 2010 at 04:14

      Why is METALLIC BLUE losing to GREY WHITE??? That’s a travesty! Guys, guys guys….Metallic Blue looks much better than grey white which I think is as boring as black grey and the colors are even off (not quite grey and not quite white).

  2. iwantitfast said, on September 28, 2010 at 18:00

    Hi, When will be the release date? When can I preorder it? Will I be able to preorder it from germany (I don’t need german layout/language)?
    Are the prices fixed?

    Ilike 2 and 6 ;-)

    • achm said, on September 29, 2010 at 02:32

      …preorder it from germany (I don’t need german layout/language)?

      me too!

    • ElykS said, on September 29, 2010 at 14:25

      Yeah, same for me

    • Armando said, on September 29, 2010 at 17:20

      …or Switzerland!

      still patiently waiting…

    • Phil said, on September 29, 2010 at 19:41

      me too

    • Liese said, on September 30, 2010 at 22:11

      German Layout/language would be nice – of course. But if there’s an option to update it later, it’s also soon enough for me.
      I would like to hold ADAM in my hands – the sooner, the better – no matter if it’s a german or english version!!!

    • keith said, on October 1, 2010 at 13:02

      日本からの僕も!

    • mrzeal said, on October 1, 2010 at 16:27

      thank you! do you think NI could be the new Sony++?

    • beeker said, on October 1, 2010 at 14:31

      Sweden is also waiting eagerly :)

  3. Atul Tiwari said, on September 28, 2010 at 18:03

    Red & Black
    Titanium Black

    btw, what’s up with camera? moved at the corner?

    • Michael R said, on September 28, 2010 at 20:52

      I think they moved the camera because most people will be using portrait mode while walking. The camera would be to low and blocked by your chest for web conferencing if centered.

    • Tarwinia said, on September 29, 2010 at 07:07

      It could also have to do with the problems they mentioned with placing it in the middle of the batteries.
      The disadvantage is that corner placing makes it less lefty friendly in portrait mode (unless they chat with their stomachs rather than their faces :S

    • Disregard said, on September 29, 2010 at 08:23

      Good point, I don’t think many will be chatting with their stomachs. Though, there are those that chat with their genitals. But I guess then you could just turn it upside down. Seems this guy thought of everything!

    • Lauri said, on September 29, 2010 at 13:13

      It has been said in previos posts, that final version has camera in center. As you saw, there were some other elements that changed design depending on colour option as well. (slide swich for example, on yellow version it round and on metallic blue it is round-rect with stripe on it)
      Those “photos” are renderings, and probably done on different times and from different source files. Only thing that we should pay any attention on these renderings is colour harmony and how we like it. Physical layout might be already out-dated. (wait for 09.10.2010 (dd.mm.yyyy) for final pictures)

    • elmelao said, on September 30, 2010 at 03:19

      Correct. That Rohan in another post.

    • mrzeal said, on October 1, 2010 at 16:58

      09.10.2010 (dd.mm.yyyy) … cute; this is what Adamites like me love; the attention to detail….

    • Jon said, on September 29, 2010 at 22:23

      Or it could be just to demonstrate color, In fact that’s what I’d do to example color.

      Just to show color contrast with the side, and on both sides of the camera, while keeping it a close up picture

  4. Mark said, on September 28, 2010 at 18:14

    Looks like an old render, with the camera in the corner; still don’t want to give away the final look, I suppose. I really liked about 4 of the colours. I guess because you didn’t add black and silver, that is already a decided upon option!?

    I’m a bit surprised about how much the yellow one has grown on me in the last week. I wasn’t so struck on it at first, but now, it starts to be my favourite.

    Mark

  5. Martin said, on September 28, 2010 at 18:14

    Titanium Black and/or Metallic blue here please!

    • manish said, on September 28, 2010 at 19:04

      Man !!! vote for metallic blue guys! it looks awesome just see for few seconds….

    • inmypjs said, on September 29, 2010 at 05:09

      I totally agree. But why only two choices? Can we at least choose 3? My top 3 colors are: (two words…TITANIUM and METALLIC!)

      1. Titanium Black (this is a no brainer)
      2. Metallic Blue (the silver accents added quite a bit of interest)
      3. Titanium Grey (for those who prefer lighter than black)

      I thought I like the Grey Variant but it looked boring when I placed it next to the Titanium Black or Titanium Grey because it’s matte and lacked pizazz. I like it shiny and sparkling like titanium and metallic. The yellow, blue, and red should be metallic, otherwise they look Fisher-Price/Vtech products to me. Those colors take away from the sophistication of the product. It definitely adds interest but not in a good way (i.e. a toy). I think it should have gun colors…fierce yet elegant.

      The 3 colors I mentioned should make it into production. We can include the other colors in next year’s version (Adam 2). Oh….for the ladies I would vote brushed aluminum silver + pearl white, although that’s kinda gender neutral.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,720 other followers

