Notion Ink

And where the hell were we?

Posted in Uncategorized by Rohan Shravan on March 3, 2011

Hello there!

Long time since we last spoke! Quick updates:

  • Support team strength = developer team strength. As discussed earlier we have expanded our support team and now in fact it is bigger than the developer team. There was a training need before their proper inception, and now that is also done. So expect better services. (We have hired a top batch of iTunes’ support department.)
  • Streamlining the shipment process. You might have noticed emails from DHL, TNT and Gati on the shipment details. We have streamlined the information process and these emails were sent as a part of this change. Soon we are merging the 2 support systems (ours and shipment partners) so the request can be made to only to one of us.
  • Notion Ink was busy in under going a Major operational change and have added a lot of talent and experienced resource on all the levels to take the firm to the next corporate levels. Notion Ink is also under the process of closing the next series of investment (and that’s where I had to spend most of my time).
  • Books, which I just touched upon on the last blog, are coming from our partner in the form of store and app. Their content is good, and app ready for 2.2 and 2.3 OS. But then we are soon moving to Honeycomb, and these apps need some face-lifts.
  • Eden Apps has been ported on Honeycomb!
  • Notion Ink is also setting up a local Sales and Services Centers in US, Germany and India for better and faster support. The US one will get working first.
  • Notion Ink has expanded in one more area: Games!
  • Design, UI and animation team has also been expanded. (In fact in last 3 weeks, we have had around 80+ interview (I attend all))
  • Official QuickOffice Release: LINK
  • Dev team is maintaining a TRAC (moved out from wikidot now) for the current development process which will be opened for all to see, especially the wiki part. We are also┬ámaintaining┬áthe “Re-usable Code Sections” which can then be used by the developers to quickly make their apps and use one standard throughout.
  • On the delay part (Indian one) There was a bribe demand from some of the people associated in releasing the product from Customs. Notion Ink would not pay them and that’s the reason for delay. (This time to ease deliveries in India, Gati had ordered all the product at once to Bombay and then ship it from there instead of one shipment per customer from China.) This endangers Notion Ink’s spirits of selling Adam in India as well, but we have to take risk and absorb loss to make this Nation cleaner (it’s a headache for me and customer, specially because it’s consuming a lot of time, but I remember once discussing with my friends that if I have opportunity, I will fight against it, and I think this is the starting)
  • Whole Notion Ink’s Bangalore facility is under construction since last 30 days (re-layouts and interiors).

More updates to come soon.

Warm Regards

Rohan Shravan

2,650 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Veeraraagavan said, on March 3, 2011 at 13:58

    First?

    • Veeraraagavan said, on March 3, 2011 at 14:09

      Well After a year! I couldnt be more happy – finally the first! And really glad you are back. And congrats on your marriage – wish you a great married life!

      @Rohan,
      1. Now to the update – first my personal question – I had ordered my adam to my old address – (since it shipped on Feb 15th) and as of 1st March I have moved to a new home. I sent a mail to support on what to do about this – they instructed me that I should get in touch with Gati – but I would need to know my consignment number for that? Dont I? I have only the reference number now.

      2. I wanted updates about unmounting removable devices other than the internal adam memory – this is very important since removing usb sticks, etc, is causing corruption of internal micro sd.
      3. Hope the shipment contact streamlines as you said – also the website needs a lot of updates – and the store needs to become public not invite only.
      4. Hope the NTFS support is also coming with the Honeycomb update.
      5. Please pre load Flash, Market and Tegrazone in the next update.

    • Chebbinator said, on March 3, 2011 at 15:20

      Veeraraagavan – you finally did it!!

    • Veeraraagavan said, on March 3, 2011 at 15:40

      @Chebbinator,
      Yeah mate, after a year and almost 4-5 months after I started commenting here. 3rd March is a day to remember!

    • Veeraraagavan said, on March 3, 2011 at 16:57

      @ Rohan,

      Last Request – it would be great to have an option to switch between Honeycomb homescreen and Eden homescreen ( so that we can have multiple homescreens – to focus on particular areas of use) – a build just for those who want to have that will be great – it will be great to choose the mode you want to update too ;) But I am asking too much here I think.

      Also before public release, we can have log enabled beta testers for the Honecomb Adam build- and you can ask us to register at a specific link @ NI website if you want to.

    • Tim said, on March 4, 2011 at 06:31

      Verra
      Have you tried removing flash drives when adam is off? Inconvenient but perhaps will avoid the corruption issue. I had not noticed the issue but I think I popped out the drive only a couple of times. When I wanted to remove my sd card I found no way to unmount so went with the power down approach. I have had jpg files disappear and now I wonder if popping out the flash drive was involved. I would be interested in your thoughts. Back to reading now, maybe sombody already provided the answer :_)

    • Veeraraagavan said, on March 4, 2011 at 10:04

      @Tim,
      In power off (shutdown) mode there isnt a problem when removing the “removable storage” hardware. But the problem exists in standby and in active mode – my jpgs got screwed up- in fact my wallpaper got screwed up – and the jpg related to that went missing – sometimes the applications in sd are also corrupted (have stopped moving apps to sd from then on – funny but the original secure partition for apps also resides in the same sd. Seems a workaround given by the dev team instead of giving option to remove storage properly. Also I am not sure of the brand of the internal SD – is it Sandisk?

    • Tim said, on March 5, 2011 at 02:30

      Thanks for replying. I did have an application disappear once also but to be honest I am such a novice with Android I blamed myself. Rapidly rethinking that idea, now it seems I have been a victim of this storage issue also. I noticed somebody over at NIH commenting on jpg files disappearing also, I have not been able to get back there yet but will hunt his comment down and provide this possible hint. I have already put a lot of music and many books on SD2 and so far have not noticed any issues with them, thank goodness, but it makes me wonder what there is about jpgs that this is happening. Regardless, you are right, we need a way to safely remove all external storage and I would prefer not to power down :-) to do it, hard to find enough time to spend with adam as it is.
      Sorry, I don’t know the brand on the internal SD.
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts, you have helped clarify a few things for me and I will just have to have a protocol to follow until the development team can address this issue.

    • Veeraraagavan said, on March 8, 2011 at 23:33

      @Tim,
      It is not only some apps and jpgs, but almost all of the know file types from the internal memory card. Think NI has o do something about this. Otherwise, USB storage support doesn’t make sense to me if it is gonna corrupt my internal storage.

    • markmarios said, on March 10, 2011 at 17:36

      what about orders from 3-10 or March anybody received any tracking?

    • lonebrat said, on March 10, 2011 at 22:26

      Got my first notice email this morning. WOO-HOOOO! Let the countdown begin!

    • Veeraraagavan said, on March 25, 2011 at 00:54

      @prantha and others, my PO 1.5 order got delivered this evening to my house. Will check it during the weekend. And I would be really happy if somebody updates the excel fle for me(if u find my order details there).

      As a side note, please try out Opera mobile 11 on Adam. I just love it. You can get it directly from the opera website. You might want to put the following custom agent string to get the desktop like experience . Open a new tab, type opera:config in the address bar and press enter. Now in the search button in the page type”user” without the quotes and scroll down in the results that appear. Find custom user agent string and copyand paste the below string:
      Opera/9.80 (Windows NT 5.1; U; en) Presto/2.7.81 Version/11.00

    • Prantha said, on March 25, 2011 at 02:41

      To make changes to your entry, please fill out the Form at: “http://tiny.cc/NI-Entry-Form”

      You can see all the entries at these OFFICIAL Mirrors:
      1: “http://tiny.cc/NI-tracker-na”
      2: “http://tiny.cc/NI-tracker-nih”
      3: “http://tiny.cc/NI-Wordpress”

      (I am putting these links here on the first page of this thread because some people are actually reading from Page 1!)

    • hadesto said, on March 27, 2011 at 08:01

      @eightyape i guess i can understand your being frustrated/angry… but , really ?

    • eightyape said, on March 27, 2011 at 16:57

      well you appear to defending and personally linked to a company that have taken my money and refuse to communicate- with everyone it seems- you included.
      if your not an idiot then you are a wanker for selling the same unreliable -nonexistant snake oil notionink are peddling.- a smug one at that.
      because other companies fuck up it means notionink can too with impunity and maintain a customer base???
      amazon has the benefit of problem transactions being few and far between and i have purchsed hundreds of products from them not one experiencing a delay or ignorance -funny that
      notionink is consistently ignoring and lying to its customers- what part of that is accpetable from amazon or anyone?
      for a start its just plain rude!
      as far as i know you are in their employ or hopelessly in love with rohan or somesuch- so nothing you say is ever going to be a convincer to those who know how business works and have realised that there is more to this latest NI fuckup than just not being able to post stuff.
      i mean its hardly rocket science is it?
      posting stuff?
      ffs i have a van- i could have driven to india and brought them back in the time it has taken for them to do nothing.
      the only reason for this delay has to be serious hardware issue- specific to the pqi seemingly as noone has seen one yet- either that or the blackmailkers made good on their threat and screwed the shipment over..

    • eightyape said, on March 27, 2011 at 17:50

      sorry dwarf but your self appointed role as notionink apologist really wasnt endearing me to you.
      i have wasted too much time and effort trying to communicate with a company who treats their customers like shit on their shoe. dam might well be so amzing its unreal- but without basic kinowledge of how customer/ business relation operate they are useless as a marshmallow hammer.

    • Prantha said, on March 27, 2011 at 23:00

      @eightyape:

      You may be surprised by this, but we understood your anger and resentment the FIRST, SECOND, and THIRD time. Now, you have simply become a boring, ranting, very immature child.

      To quote a (rather ineffective) politician; “PUT YOUR MAN-PANTS ON.” Get over it.

    • fjg said, on March 27, 2011 at 23:36

      @ eightyape
      I ask this with all seriousness; are you currently on a medication regiment, and are you off it now?

    • dwarf4242 said, on March 28, 2011 at 01:20

      fjg said, on March 27, 2011 at 23:36
      @ eightyape
      I ask this with all seriousness; are you currently on a medication regiment, and are you off it now?

      fjg: You have made my day! Thank you! I had not even thought of that possibility. I just assumed he was still immature enough to still be throwing 3 year old tantrums. Never thought he might be a mature mental case off his meds…

      Luck!!!

    • Burt O' Stage said, on March 28, 2011 at 02:14

      I know it’s hard, Dwarf. But for all friendship’s sake let him go and just ignore him!

      Do not feed the trolls…apes… whatever :)

      Let’s turn to happier topics!

    • Burt O' Stage said, on March 28, 2011 at 02:15

      btw. it’s around 4:45 in Hongkong… Now it comes to it

  2. casualcoding said, on March 3, 2011 at 14:00

    Glad that you are back!

  3. Burt O' Stage said, on March 3, 2011 at 14:00

    Halleluja.

  4. casualcoding said, on March 3, 2011 at 14:03

    Good to read that things are moving. Hopefully we can see some of the results very soon. :)

  5. angrybrain said, on March 3, 2011 at 14:04

    When will start PO-3 ? I really want to buy Adam…)


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,692 other followers

