Notion Ink

Week-End Special – XI

Posted in Uncategorized by Rohan Shravan on December 4, 2010

[Update: Pre-Order will continue for long, its just that the members will be given highest priority. So don’t worry :) We can probably expand the system for those who post on this one, but I need to check technically how to still distinguish them from the new members!]

Greetings everyone!

How are you doing? Today I have a good news for you!

Your comments and feedbacks have kept the blog alive, it really feels like a family, where you know people by their name (those who post anonymously will be at loss after this post) and their familiar characteristics. And it is this family who should have the first right on things closer to the heart.

I don’t want anyone who follows this blog to wait any more :). We all are special and should get some extra benefit. The pre-booking will be available only for the ones who have posted a comment on this blog (for a limited period of time), and only after this interval the world will have the access. In short, family first! :) (It also means that those who start commenting NOW, are not counted in this list)

Few more updates:

  • We have done something with our FCC application and it will be little difficult for you to find us!
  • All 6 variants have passed EMI tests
  • Payment Integration Gateways are up
  • All softwares are in beta now
  • There was a wrong Wi-Fi infringement case on Notion Ink which we rectified. (we were using right components as otherwise opposed to what this company suspected)
  • Adam is in Europe as of now. I have never mentioned this in particular, but Europe is an extremely crucial market for us, our sales and marketing team is in Europe this week.
  • There were 4 areas where we felt Android was infringing few patents and stayed away from using those, and implemented our own methods. Seems like we were correct and our portfolio just expanded a little because of this.
  • 6th December is another big day for Android and you will find out how fast Notion Ink can work. (Eden is extremely compatible with 2.3)

The Browser

Applications on Adam enjoy just more than a boost in processing power. The allocated application memory is also high, and you will not find Force Closure Exception because of “out-of-memory” issues. This was a big step in converting your Android to a tablet version OS (and one of the updates coming in 3.0). “Our browser has beaten every browser in the world in switching tabs” as one of our programmers loves to say (qualitatively), but you need memory to retain these tabs.

Let’s look at this image:

The browser is multi-touch enabled and you get this menu when you do a “2-finger drag-up”. This is also the icon set which will come on Adam (these are my personal favorites after 4-5 revisions, don’t look at the text below icons). Bookmark is something you know already.For a normal eye next is copy and crop, but the question is how many times at one go, and what to do after you have copied or cropped? Have you felt a need of selecting the first line and third line simultaneously? Browser works beautifully with one application that I havent spoken about (and I LOVE this application). Anything you copy or crop will be arranged (not populated) in this application (hint: notes). People who do online research and like making notes, will love the browser and this feature. (Note on the last icon: kill browser: Android has a nagging feature (sorry if anyone loves one), of not killing the application. On Mobile environment that’s probably a good idea because now you can call back that application ASAP, but not for big applications like browser. If you are an Android user, you might have noticed that normal users press back a lot to go out of application, tracking back all the views! Also this gives you an option of taking out revenge on the browser instead of your boyfriend or wife!) (Question for you: How do we zoom? :) )

Mail’d

Check-out the loading page:

Mail’d works in sync with your calendar (which allows you to sync with Google, etc) Facebook application and Contacts Manager. This syncing was required so you have access to more connections (and less typing) and there is no need of managing 3 different lists. It also allows you to add multiple account (we have tested more than 20 without any issues), with full HTML rendering, attachments and one feature which is little controversial. I discussed about the feature where you can call back email (no it’s not your Outlook type feature where you send request neither where you need to be on same network), send password protected emails, etc. For those who are against this, argue that once anyone has received any email, its their property. I disagree. Every email sent is sender’s property (all corporate email comes with “do not forward” footers) and if he is concerned about receiver forwarding email to someone else, he can use this feature. It is not enabled by default and it’s not the property of all the emails you will send, but only available if you intend to use it! (With great power, come great responsibilities). (It was really hard for me to convince my Board about this feature, but when few people misused our EAP emails, they instantly agreed!)

Weather App

How do we get weather information for all the cities on earth where Adam might go? The animation has to be perfect and must come with sound. I really want Adam to wake you up even if you are sleeping in your cozy rooms when there is thunder-storm outside.

If you are not familiar with WOEIDs, please do read about them. Our designers have done a real good work in showing you the transitions from day to-night, from one city to another, and from one season to another.

I read in comments, why are we wasting time in designing applications? My answer is, Eiffel Tower was called a waste and suffered indifference and rejection of most local people at the beginning. In addition, it suffered from harsh criticism of some experts on architecture and urban planning. It takes time for everyone to realize what designers are up-to, and we are really onto something big here. We know Tegra (a) little better than the rest (just because we have spent time), this helps us in understanding what application wants from OS (else why would we know we need to increase frame-buffers for applications) and a design guide for other developers so as to make things which look uniform.

Something to keep you busy:

First Description:

Few came dangerously close,
to change the fundamentals of light,
but few realized the power of the same,
and now it even works at night!

Second Description:

I am not a sensor though I can feel
Though light is my father, I can work in a shield
I am there since Big Bang, I am still the need
My re-birth opened a new era, a new playing field!

Third Description:

I shortened the distance as nothing else could beat me
your test my limits, every time you set a form free
Now I am not alone, but I’m still the alpha to all
and with a century old, I am the best I could ever be.

 

Nikola Tesla

 

We all have learnt a lot about Tesla in last 2 weeks. I will suggest you do read about “the war of currents”.  I read somewhere that you can know a lot about someone if you know their super heroes. I suspect that is true for the favorite scientists. Nikola was probably ahead of his time. Commercial success is extremely important. He did win the battle of setting AC voltage as the standard, but lost the war on commercial grounds which Edison won.

Sometimes I really feel it is harder for our generation to innovate or discover the fundamentals. All we can do is to improve what has been done, discovered or invented, max we can present in a new form. To do something special you need a Hadron Collider, and there is a steep reduction in real stories like “October Sky”. I really wish to change this! :)

On the leaving note, I will try to have 2 posts every week! :)

With Warm Regards

Rohan Shravan

 

9,505 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Daniel said, on December 4, 2010 at 13:40

    FINALLY! :D

    • SourOfTheSource said, on December 4, 2010 at 14:29

      Can’t wait to see the official final pics and the store up! It’s SO EXCITING!

    • rohit narayan said, on December 5, 2010 at 03:11

      were is pre order website?

    • Douglas Clark said, on December 5, 2010 at 04:15

      I want one so bad…This will be my Christmas gift to myself. Hope I can be part of the family!!!

    • khairul said, on December 5, 2010 at 04:26

      bring it on Rohan and Notion Ink Team!

    • DiGi40 said, on December 5, 2010 at 06:36

      been waiting, sitting reading and again waiting for this tablet I have the upmost admiration for the NI team, and the over extended family, the wait is finally nearing the end, I am normally very pacient but this has had my attention since the begining of the year, all the hard work and time and effort that has gone into this has to make it one of the best tablets. Again I will sit, waiting, reading the blogs and whatever snippet of information I can find on the ADAM until it is released……. cant come soon enough ;o)

    • Ovidiu said, on December 5, 2010 at 06:38

      I’ve been waiting for a long time for Adam, and refused to buy anything else that came out or will anytime soon. Hope to make the cut on pre-ordering, at least within the initial shipments (100k or so units, as somebody speculated.)
      Great job Rohan and NI team and family. I’m convinced I’m going to be WOWED. Can’t wait to be able to order. Head on.

    • Maverick said, on December 5, 2010 at 11:18

      This is exciting! I’ve posted on this blog before, several times, dating way back when it first started, although I’m sure there are people who have more time on their hands and have been more active. I assume I’m still eligible for the early pre-order.

      But, how do I know, and where is my special pre-order button?!?!

    • Michael Creane said, on December 5, 2010 at 13:06

      This looks phenomenal!

    • Beth said, on December 5, 2010 at 13:42

      Awesome to hear Adam is in the pre-order stage, but do we have any info as to when it’s actually going to be in stores like Best Buy to play with and man-handle? ;)
      I know a lot of people who don’t know enough about Adam to pre-order, but who would almost certainly buy if they had a chance to get their hands on it. Hopefully this will be sometime soon in the US.

      All the best to Notion Ink on this important milestone!

      P.S. Do we have any clarification on what “8gb+” internal storage means? How much “+”?

    • Mike said, on December 5, 2010 at 14:10

      Yes the final pics with a good run through video would be fantastic. The sooner the better to keep the anticipation going! :) It’s funny to think that the best video out there (I think) is the one from way back in January showing off the different screens.

    • Jason Rosenfeld said, on December 4, 2010 at 14:39

      I have been following the adam for more than a year. To see it this far is amazing. I can’t wait.

    • Bryan said, on December 5, 2010 at 04:58

      Ive been following this thing from the start and can’t believe it is almost here, this is going to be amazing

    • Ovidiu said, on December 5, 2010 at 06:57

      One word: PERFECTION

    • kiran said, on December 4, 2010 at 14:55

      Good to know, we will have preference in preordering the Adam. But, good business strategy would be to make it available for everyone without much time difference. You know how the apple users living outside USA/UK feel whenever apple introduces a new product.. should I wait for it or just buy something already available here?

    • vipin said, on December 4, 2010 at 15:18

      Totally agree….

    • winna said, on December 4, 2010 at 15:24

      So…..what if I’m in the completely unusual circumstance that “winna” is not actually my real name? Do I not get to pre-pre-order? :(

    • vipin said, on December 4, 2010 at 15:29

      Hi Shravan,
      Although I have been glued to the blog nd wait for it every week end, I am not bothered abt d pre orders. I will have an Adam as soon as it comes out…..good to find out everything on this blog but guess things r goin a bit slow…..sure u guys r working hard but some real ‘thing’ wud surely make a big difference nd will surely create a lot of buzz…..Plz launch it soon.

    • Andrew said, on December 4, 2010 at 15:32

      I am glad to hear the Adam is almost here – Christmas? So a simple smiley face comment will secure you a pre-order email? I would be curious how many folks haven’t responded to the blog due to the fact that it seemed to be a difficult way to track a thread. I have responded before this post but have never seen it posted…

      Here is hoping that after following the progress of the Adam for almost a year that it will be available before the New Year.

      All the best.

    • manish said, on December 4, 2010 at 15:33

      Agree.Ideally Pre-ordering of Adam should not differentiate any body ,whichever part of the world they may be .But practically it can’t be done, we all understand that. So lets hope every body get ADAM Without Much of time difference.So, Rohan one more request ; hope you will achieve this , AS ADAM is for whole WORLD and every body should celebrate together the day which whole world will remember as “BIRTHDAY of ADAM” :)

    • Jostein said, on December 4, 2010 at 16:26

      I signed the petition in february where the Notion Ink Design team asked “So who wants to be the first to own an Adam??!! Post your e-mail ids here if you do. :) Regards, Notion Ink Design labs.,” – http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=310562558516&id=302736112175

      And I’ve checked in on this blog on average once a day the last couple of months.

      But I don’t think I’ve added any comments on this blog (just the Facebook page). Does that exclude me from pre-ordering? Am I not a big enough fan?

    • Jarl said, on December 4, 2010 at 18:00

      i couldnt agree more, Kiran. I have been reading the blog and checking the website at a daily basis, for months now, but never left a comment until now. I do however feel like part of the family, anxiously awaiting the day we can all order and advertising the Adam with friends and family whenever possible

      so please Rohan, please dont leave us behind and give us, the silent fans and family, a chance as well

    • Justus said, on December 4, 2010 at 18:06

      For starters: have you actually TRIED to buy a decent Tegra2 powered ANYTHING?
      It’s not as if the Q2 promise on all these Tegra2 devices by NVidia actually held true.
      Afaik the Folio100 is the only one, and believe me, you don’t want that.

      On to the other issue winna put up: I guess you can be identified by your e-mail, at least I hope so.
      I commented once or twice before, I hope the offer includes me ;)

      Regards,
      Justus

    • Casper said, on December 4, 2010 at 18:11

      @Rohan
      I really don’t think putting people into categories like “family” and “non-family” is a good idea. Personally, I have never posted a single comment on the blog, but have followed it every saturday evening, when I got home from work. When I got home from work there were about 300+ comments (this number has of course increased over time with its growing popularity to a stunning 800+ comments now). When reading the comments I always felt that my views were covered many times. I saw no need to ask for the fifth time if Adam would support Gingerbread, if we could use a stylus, if the ferrari version would still be in production etc. Think about it. In your so called “family” the family members talk about the same things over and over again. I saw no need to contribute to that.

      This was the exact same view I displayed the first time I posted on the Facebook page of Adam back in June: “I have been following this discussion board for quite some months now. However, I haven’t really felt the need to make a lot of posts as most views have already been expressed many times.

      Nevertheless, I have a question now. In case NI is launching in India before the rest of the world (damn you NI!), would it be possible to ship it from India to e.g. European countries?” (http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=302736112175&topic=16079)
      There are a few other examples on Facebook of my activity, but none here whatsoever.

      I cannot think I am the only one beeing in this situation and I just want you to know, that my heart sank when I read about your distinction between family and non-family after having followed this project since March. Good day to you guys at NI.

      Casper

    • Bryan said, on December 4, 2010 at 19:01

      I have been waiting for this for a long time, hopefully I’m eligible for a preorder! These things are so nerve racking!

    • Dan Dischler said, on December 4, 2010 at 19:02

      He does have the caveat in parentheses stating the short time period available for this nice gesture. I’m guessing only a day or two at the most till they open pre-booking to all, so I say wait for it!

    • dlee said, on December 4, 2010 at 20:18

      + 1

    • grma said, on December 4, 2010 at 21:26

      Yesterday as I was rereading the update from last week I thought, I’ve been lurking here since this blog started. Maybe I need to say something just in case preference is given to active participants. But then I said to my self, you’re 67 years old, don’t understand half of this technobabble…what you gonna say?
      OK here’s my 2 bits, I voted on every thing requiring a vote. I first read about the Adam last February and knew it was what i wanted. The whole concept of how NI started and has carried on is refreshing. Oh, and I want a red one.

    • Sotaman said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:20

      I guess I’m in the same boat as some others… This is my first posting, but have been following the blog for about six months with great and feverish anticipation! I’ve voted on everything possible. I’ve shared adam with everyone I can. …I’ve even been on covert operations to put the NI site on all the iBads, laptops, etc. at any store I visit. I’ve enjoyed reading all the hilarious, informative, enlightening posts on here. I suppose it’s my own fault for not posting something earlier, but if there’s any hope that Mr Shravan will have mercy and allow for me to be included in the pre-order… here I am. :)

    • Casper said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:42

      I realize that my previous comment might be awaiting moderation due to the link in it. I’ll therefore post it again (this time breaking the link into bits :) ):

      @Rohan
      I really don’t think putting people into categories like “family” and “non-family” is a good idea. Personally, I have never posted a single comment on the blog, but have followed it every saturday evening, when I got home from work. When I got home from work there were about 300+ comments (this number has of course increased over time with its growing popularity to a stunning 800+ comments now). When reading the comments I always felt that my views were covered many times. I saw no need to ask for the fifth time if Adam would support Gingerbread, if we could use a stylus, if the ferrari version would still be in production etc. Think about it. In your so called “family” the family members talk about the same things over and over again. I saw no need to contribute to that.

      This was the exact same view I displayed the first time I posted on the Facebook page of Adam back in June: “I have been following this discussion board for quite some months now. However, I haven’t really felt the need to make a lot of posts as most views have already been expressed many times.

      Nevertheless, I have a question now. In case NI is launching in India before the rest of the world (damn you NI!), would it be possible to ship it from India to e.g. European countries?” (http ://www. facebook. com/topic.php?uid=302736112175&topic=16079)
      There are a few other examples on Facebook of my activity, but none here whatsoever.

      I cannot think I am the only one beeing in this situation and I just want you to know, that my heart sank when I read about your distinction between family and non-family after having followed this project since March. Good day to you guys at NI.

      Casper

    • Adam Greco said, on December 5, 2010 at 00:10

      I like the idea of pre-order. I’ve been following for 6 months and never posted though!

    • NomNomVomit said, on December 5, 2010 at 00:24

      Haha… Manish, biblical? I’m thinking this’ll be a sweet offering and I’m really excited about it. I wonder how many times I’m going to have to try to pre-order before I actually get through to either A. Submitting, or B. the customer service line… :-P

      Thanks to all the hard workers here, you’ve done an amazing job.

    • RD said, on December 5, 2010 at 00:47

      @Casper: +1…you just said what i want to said…and its just prove your opinion, and of course it’s also my opinion

      nb:this is my 4th post and my last post was about six month ago

    • Keith said, on December 5, 2010 at 01:10

      I’ve been following Adam for the last six months although i haven’t commented before today, although i have voted in the adam polls so ii do feel part of the family.

    • Rahul said, on December 5, 2010 at 01:16

      Totally agree with Casper… I too was regular on the blog.. just because I did not post before this one, i shouldn’t be tagged as non-family..
      Lets find some another way :)

    • prantha said, on December 5, 2010 at 01:20

      I lost my wordpress-linked email address and password. I voted on the colors, etc. I guess that does not count, but I am so bummed that I cannot participate in the first release.

      Please, Rohan, don’t make us wait too long to get ours.

    • Josie said, on December 5, 2010 at 01:40

      NO!!! I have been watching this blog forever and looking forward to using the ADAM in the upcoming session of my class in January. Please Please Please let us that are not much for posting get an ADAM in the first pre order.

    • Lakshman said, on December 5, 2010 at 03:10

      Totally agree. It is a noble thought to give priority to bloggers but it needs to be made available for everyone without much time difference. There could be so many people who might have been following the blog without posting anything.

    • Ted M said, on December 5, 2010 at 03:23

      I agree with what an earlier poster “kiran” said when he stated “But, good business strategy would be to make it available for everyone without much time difference.” I understand your feelings of family first but I would have to disagree when it comes to the release of a product. If you want to take care of family, how about a discount in price? I’m not disputing the family concept (i actually applaud you for the approach), I’m disputing how you are going to take care of family. You have a great product and to punish your potential followers for not posting just doesn’t seem right. All this has done is open my eyes to other products that don’t discriminate to the type of user. While I am a big fan of your product, I’m definitely not as “techie” as maybe some of your “family”, therefore there really isn’t anything I could have contributed in a post.

      I too have been following Adam since the beginning. Adam is the reason why I do not have an ipad and now your telling me that delay after delay, I now have to wait some more and see everyone around me with some type of tablet device……I don’t know about this one…

    • brian k said, on December 5, 2010 at 09:22

      I’ve watched since feb 10 and am super excited!

    • gstrube said, on December 4, 2010 at 14:59

      Yes, indeed.

      Just 14 days ago I stumbled across the Adam. I have waiting since 1988 for a better portable solution…. Readability in daylight, looong batterylife, built-n apps. data-sharing….

      When I read about the specs, I finally had the feeling: YES! FINALLY!

      For me, the portable revolution started with the Cambridge Z88, which was launched in 1987. I visited the PCW show and actually got to enjoy Sir Clive Sinclair live back then. I was just a kid, 19, but for me it was a revelation. A was using a revolution:

      The Z88 was driven by 4 simple AA batteries and could run on those for more than 20 hours. A4 size and less than a kilo in weight. The operating system and all apps were in a 128K ROM. All software developed in native Zilog Z80 assembler – NO high level C or C++ programming here!!! The computer had 32K of SRAM, with the possibility to upgrade to 128K RAM in one of the external slots. It had a 640×64 pixel LCD, so not much screen space either. The only communication with the outside world was a RS-232. 9600 BPS max speed… (16K upload in 12 secs).

      But it was sufficient.. Back then, it became a revolution for many people. Apple-fans were in love with the Z88. It was a good match for them. And Apple did not have a portables at that time.. Remember there was not Internet either..

      Journalists loved this machine. Because you could work for hours and hours.. back then the only alternative was a clunky Olivetti IBM portable, Toshiba et all, minimum 15kg. NOT very portable…

      I became a dedicated user for this machine for 20 years, 15 years after the company behind had disappeared. To this day there are still people using this machine. And a single supplier of spare parts and new Flash cards to be used. Talk about dedication for a portable computer!

      Back then, I wrote the danish user guide, I developed applications for it… Finally, in 1993 (2 years after the company imploded in the UK) we were a small team of people who reverse-engineered the ROM, made a huge effort in re-organising the source code we had created from disassembly tools. I used thousands of hours working on that source code; new features in the OS, new apps. tons of bug fixes from the old code, etc. etc..

      To this day I’m still being able to use the Z88. In daylight. Still working hours and hours typing notes on the rubber keyboard. No other portable could do that. Except for the Pixel Qui portables just released this year.

      Just pressing both Shift keys. and the machine will sleep (using almost no power – running on those batteries for 5 months if need be).

      Now, finally, the wait is over and I can rest my trusty old Z88. Pull out the batteries for the final time and start using my new toy, the Adam. With 10 x features and capabilities that were imposssible to imagine just 10 years ago.

      Thank you, Notion Ink, to dare think beyond Microsoft and conformity. To trust that things can always be improved.

      I am looking very much forward to being a proud owner of an Adam. I live in Spain, so hopefully Notion Ink will support this country through their dealer network.

      All the best luck with the launch!

      Kind regards
      Gunther

    • Tejas Chonkar said, on December 5, 2010 at 03:42

      Amazing… looking forward for a pre order :)

    • biometer said, on December 4, 2010 at 14:59

      I am not sure how to post a comment without replying to a comment but yay!

    • Clayton Smith said, on December 5, 2010 at 11:58

      Again posting since I have been lurking in the shadows for months. no posts but I really have had nothing else to add that wasn’t covered a million times by others posts. I voted for the logos but that was it :P

    • VB said, on December 4, 2010 at 15:05

      Great. :-)

    • Wilco said, on December 4, 2010 at 20:46

      Finally haha.. release it soon por favor

    • BOB JACOBS said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:43

      EVERYONE HAS DONE A GREAT JOB (THOUGH AT TIMES I DON’T UNDERSTAND HALF THE THINGS YOU WRITE ABOUT). I HAVE BEEN ON NI SIGHT SINCE THIS PAST SUMMER AND READING MOST OF WHAT YOU HAVE WRITTEN. NATHAN OF THE E-READER.COM RECOMMENED NOTION INK TO ME THIS SUMMER THANKS NAT. HOPE WE ALL GET ONE SOON.

    • Vikas Gujjar said, on December 5, 2010 at 04:09

      +1 :)

    • Raj said, on December 4, 2010 at 15:35

      Thank God , This is my 5th post and hope eligible for preordering.

    • David said, on December 4, 2010 at 17:23

      Ugh – I’ve only posted a few times – I may not make the cut, but I am excited about the news!!!

      dph

    • Dempsey said, on December 4, 2010 at 17:35

      Same here, an always-positive yet infrequent commenter. Hoping I count as the cool uncle who only comes to 1 out of 10 functions.

    • Jocelyn said, on December 4, 2010 at 19:55

      Yeah I don’t post all the time but I hope I qualify too.

    • Shawn said, on December 4, 2010 at 20:05

      Is preordering eligibility based on post counts though?

      If so, are we going to see lots of spam in the next few days?

    • Chase said, on December 4, 2010 at 20:49

      This is worse for me because I have been watching the blog but never thought of commenting on anything. Maybe I could be the part of the extended family. Happy either way though.

    • Michael in Canada said, on December 4, 2010 at 21:48

      I’ve been an avid reader of this blog since it began. I’ve only posted a couple of times before – I guess I’m not very talkative. I hope people like me will be included in the pre-order.

    • JayO said, on December 4, 2010 at 22:00

      I knew I should have posted! I’ve been following for 6 months, but just enjoyed reading everything and keeping updated on this amazing product! Guess I’ll be one of the first in line when it is open to all! Can’t wait!

    • Nick said, on December 4, 2010 at 22:25

      I’m actually pretty disappointed. I’m sure there’s a large population like me who don’t participate in blog-post conversations (except for now… lol) but who’ve been following the development process of this device for a very long time. We’re all just as eager and committed to purchasing the product as anyone who’s engaged in postings here.

      Not having the same access as those who likes to chat suggests we’re less important of a customer. I just hope that the delay doesn’t mean delays in product delivery for those of us the silent but dedicated group.

    • Michael said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:08

      Yeah i hope they can extend the pre orders to people who havent posted enough. Personally ive only posted today only, however as with many people i have been checking the blog constantly. It’s so exciting now especially. People who have been checking the blog, are just as much fans as the frequent posters.

    • Daryl said, on December 5, 2010 at 02:01

      I hope I’m eligible as well.

      I dunno how many I have posted, but it is like 10 or something.
      Anyways, I am not subscribed to NI but I’m not reading that either.

      Buuuut Rohan is talking about members, ssooooooo.
      Should I be a subscriber? If not….you know what let me subscribe.

      As always greetz and ofcourse World Peace.

      Daryl.

      PS let the pre-order start, plzzzzzzzzzz.

    • paarwan said, on December 5, 2010 at 03:53

      Put in a secret link to a pre-pre-ordering page in this blog or comments so that those who regularly read this blog but do not post can also get the advantage! Yes?

    • Erikjuh said, on December 4, 2010 at 15:56

      Lol :D I have been following this blog for a couple of months now, but never felt the urge to post. More of a lurker kind of guy i guess. Still feel part of the ‘family’ though :)
      I will pre-order as soon as i get the chance!

    • prantha said, on December 5, 2010 at 01:23

      Me 2.

    • biometer said, on December 5, 2010 at 03:10

      I agree, I also have been following this blog but haven’t really been posting, have just been speculating

    • Damian said, on December 5, 2010 at 08:08

      +1 to hat

    • jaytea said, on December 4, 2010 at 16:01

      Awesome?
      The finish is in sight.
      JT

    • Beth said, on December 4, 2010 at 20:04

      I have been following the birth of the Adam for months. Getting real excited now. It will be my birthday present from my mom. I am not much of a poster, but I am on the site every day, and can’t wait for the Adam to be in my hands and show it off!

    • Wichard said, on December 4, 2010 at 16:27

      shame that all the fans that are ony reading are left out of the pre-orders.

      will have to wait a bit longer :-(

    • Finnegan said, on December 5, 2010 at 09:02

      I know right? I’ve been following this blog for months, the anticipation’s been killing me, but I’ve never posted until right now. I just never felt the need to say anything other than, “Awesome!” Sucks, man. I wish there was a better way but I think I can be patient for a few more weeks.

      It’s a matter of weeks right?…just weeks?…god, I hope it’s weeks.

    • notion4me! said, on December 5, 2010 at 09:11

      sadly, i’ll be waiting along with you. i’ve been fighting off the ipad the hubby’s been offering since april! my concern is how many people are going to get adam just to hit the ebay market with them~i may just have to take the apple for christmas. sniff!

    • Harish said, on December 5, 2010 at 12:16

      I agree :( .. have been following adam religiously for over 5 months (read each and every post by Rohan and the following comments) and am even active on notionaddicts.. but haven’t posted here…

      but will continue waiting as long as it takes … though a little sad at being left out :(

    • yajurs said, on December 4, 2010 at 16:39

      does IP address count?

    • prantha said, on December 5, 2010 at 01:24

      WOW! Now, THAT would be a GREAT idea!!!

    • Clayton Smith said, on December 5, 2010 at 12:02

      ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ This right here is the winner.. go by IP address I log here every day just to read a little more as there are too many damn posts to read it in a single day. been hanging in the shadows for months.. althought how do u link an email addy to an IP addy? thats the problem i think

    • Frikish said, on December 4, 2010 at 16:58

      Awesome!

    • Eric said, on December 4, 2010 at 17:11

      Almost a year of waiting for any news of a preorder, or any other news and it’s a special only for people who previously commented.

      Great way to alienate a customer…

    • Sudhi said, on December 4, 2010 at 17:45

      Finally the D’day is only hours away. can’t wait any more….
      Sudhi

    • Alphonso Milligan said, on December 4, 2010 at 18:50

      I have been watching this company for a while now. Im glad we finally have a company that listens to our needs.

    • Aaron said, on December 4, 2010 at 19:19

      Can we order multiple units during preorder or will it be limited to one per person?

    • Dweiner said, on December 4, 2010 at 19:22

      Will red be available first run?

    • Alphonso Milligan said, on December 4, 2010 at 20:02

      Rohan Please include people who have commented also using comments@notionink.com

    • prantha said, on December 5, 2010 at 01:27

      Ooh! Also, PLEASE INCLUDE PEOPLE WHO WROTE TO info@notionink.com!

      That would be GREAT!

    • BrettD said, on December 5, 2010 at 06:00

      Rohan! Please include those of us that wrote to comments@notionink as well as those of us that “LIKE” Notion Ink on Facebook!

      I’ll be ordering as soon as possible.

      Thanks,
      Brett

    • alex.lg said, on December 4, 2010 at 20:13

      First it’s great to hear preordering is just about to start.

      But what about those, which subscribed long ago to be informed, when preordering will start? Are they less worthfull? I’m too eagarly awaiting to preorder one, but I’m not one of those loud and noise folks; it also always needs someone to listen, not only to talk, isn’t it?

      Anyway, great news!

    • Kévin Forest said, on December 4, 2010 at 20:28

      I hope I get one Fast

    • Jeff said, on December 4, 2010 at 20:35

      Ditto!

    • Jeff said, on December 4, 2010 at 21:18

      I have been following this device for over a year!

    • himanshu said, on December 4, 2010 at 21:41

      same here ;)

    • Antifa Shu said, on December 4, 2010 at 22:22

      me too!

    • Ben Grimes said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:24

      I’ll admit I’m late on the scene here, but (like everyone else) I am SUPER excited about the Adam and am on pins and needles waiting for its arrival!

    • onya said, on December 4, 2010 at 22:46

      Me too!!!!!

    • Kyle said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:28

      Since January! It seems my shyness maybe be my downfall though. . .

    • vijay said, on December 5, 2010 at 00:24

      @jeff
      me too

    • Andrew B said, on December 5, 2010 at 04:12

      I have been awaiting the arrival of this for a long time! Reading all the latest posts, but never commented. I want to be family! I am glad it is closer to being in my hands, finally.

    • Martin F. said, on December 4, 2010 at 20:44

      I want to order now! Please

    • jason said, on December 4, 2010 at 20:58

      Can’t wait!

    • Zack said, on December 4, 2010 at 21:12

      I have been following this blog since back during CES, so I hope that Rohan will still consider me. I want to pre-order the $500 version right away!

    • Chris said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:30

      I agree. I also want the top of the line Adam.

      After reading Rohan’s latest post I do not see any comment about pre-orders based upon the number of posts in this blog.

      I believe we will all get an equal opportunity to place a pre-order whether we have posted 1 time or hundreds.

      Keep up the GREAT work. I am pumped !!

    • Kromot said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:49

      Nice!!! I posted a couple of times before ihope that count, also i am in mexico, but i do want to pre-order the best of the best!!!!!!

      Where? How? When? Is there somewhere a link to preorder??? Really neeed to habe my adam NOW!!!

      Great work!

    • Alex Jonsson said, on December 5, 2010 at 01:45

      So, I’ve been looking forward to this tablet since last December, and have been hoping to receive it for Christmas. Ranting about it to my friends and basically glued to this blog makes this last post somewhat anti-motivating. Not having posted, I’m not going to be given priority in the pre-order? I’m sorry Rohan, this is rather frustrating…

      One more thing… If you’d please consider going through your email to January 4th (5th in the Asian time zones), you’ll have seen an email from me under my email ajonsson3@ (omitting email domain for personal reasons). My email to your group depicted my frustration:

      “I am confident that I can speak for a large group of fans when I sincerely ask NotionInk to make a stronger commitment to grabbing media attention, especially in the large U.S. market.”

      Who knows, many I helped push for more blog posts? I hope you’d consider this when thinking about priority pre-orders.

    • Waldemar said, on December 5, 2010 at 06:50

      Same like me I have never posted a singel comment on the blog , I hope I goone get one

    • morgan said, on December 4, 2010 at 21:34

      j’adore vraiment cette tablette! la meilleure de toute! merci notion ink

    • )oe( said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:36

      Hello there,
      I’m writing from Belgium-Europe. One of the smallest countries in the world. Glad to read that ADAM thinks of us too as important. II like this blog. Let’s you dream that everything is possible. If people with a vision persist on creating a real good produkt, you feel people get exited and enthousiastic. That’s so nice to read. Success and keep on thinking like you do. It’s the only good way: being consistent, perfectionist with love for the artwork you create.

    • Will said, on December 5, 2010 at 04:47

      Oui, moi aussi.

      (@Rohan But I have looked at this site (I did not comment because my ideas had been commented already) as well as the old notionink.in for the last 6 months and have abstained from buying the archos 10.1 like many other adam fans so why should blabber mouths (no offense early commenters) get to order early?)
      PS: The sooner I can get the tablet the easier it will be to organize school.

    • roger robinson said, on December 4, 2010 at 21:39

      Great to see the adam going to preordering. hope to see it before christmas

    • Bill Blakeney said, on December 5, 2010 at 11:51

      I think I have posted here in the past, but like a lot of others here, I have followed this blog for a year, always reading every post down to the end. I posted with the name BillboTex.
      I still believe in this product even if I am not qualified to be “family”. I feel like family! And I will pre-order the top model as soon as it is available to me.
      Thanks for the hard work Notion Ink!

    • Zrataza said, on December 4, 2010 at 21:48

      Hey…everyone can be saying this, I know…but I’ve been following Notion Ink since Apple announced the Ipad because I have been waiting for an Android tablet that would be better (and, of course, Adam is FAR superior). I followed many tablets…If only you could ask my friends and ask how I’ve mentioned Notion Ink Adam everyday…Well, I never registered because I did not want to be part of another blog as I’ve been on the net a lot. I am but a long lost silent relative of the Notion Ink family…=( I wish you guys all the best and hope that I can get my hands on this awesome device!

    • Bhagwan Chowdhry said, on December 4, 2010 at 21:55

      Delivery by Christmas?

    • Karsten said, on December 4, 2010 at 21:57

      Rohan,

      Please consider us who speak to the masses about “adam” rather than to the “faithful” worthy of early family status too. Shouldn’t the missionaries evangelizing the evil of the iPad (and virtues of adam) in the field receive the same benefits as those who have had the ear of the “Pope”? I promise to do battle with the iPad crowd in the airport, airplane, and public transit!

      Best regards and thanks for such a thoughtful product!

    • Sal said, on December 4, 2010 at 21:58

      Been waiting for this for sooooo long, hope it’s not to late to get first dibs :(

    • Jozua Maas said, on December 5, 2010 at 03:18

      so do I

    • Daniel Sumner said, on December 4, 2010 at 22:00

      A big AMEN brother!!!

    • topherthehidden said, on December 4, 2010 at 22:15

      Man i cant wait for Sales. To bad Santa wont even have these :(

    • Bertjegassel said, on December 4, 2010 at 22:15

      Indeed… FINALLY :)

    • Hidayatulla Khan said, on December 4, 2010 at 22:32

      Rohan…great news…and congratulations for nearing the milestone…I am not writing this just to be on your first pre-order booking…I was delighted since I saw ur product demo in CES and at Barcelona fair…had posted a fbook msg then and since then had been chkg ur blogs and spreading the good word here at Doha (Qatar_winner of 2022 Bid for FIFA world cup) to everyone willing and had deferred my ipad buy for adam since then…patiently waiting…great work nevertheless guys in this evil world of infringements, copyrights, bigbrands and misinformation…yet being creative….regs

    • Johan Greefkes said, on December 4, 2010 at 22:47

      Yeah! I want my Adam!

    • Debashish Saha said, on December 4, 2010 at 22:50

      Finally … what about india … can’t wait any longer.

    • Robert said, on December 4, 2010 at 22:54

      What happened to the keyboard description you promised last week?

    • Amit Shah said, on December 4, 2010 at 22:57

      The only thing i do not like about the part where you open the orders who comment is that, there are a lot of silent followers like me too, do not alienate them
      thanks

    • Marek said, on December 5, 2010 at 05:41

      Agreed, I have lurked here and followed Adam for at least 9 months, and while most of my friends went out and bought ipad, I have waited for the ADAM. Now, because I never left a comment on the blog, I don’t qualify for pre-order??? That is a bit ridiculous. Of course with this approach to marketing, you may find yourself at some point wishing there were some people actually placing some orders.

    • Chip Larson said, on December 4, 2010 at 22:57

      I’m disappointed I won’t be able to pre-order. Similar to @grma, I too have been following Adam since the early part of the year.True, I have posted until now, but at age 67 and retired from business I can emphasize with, relate to, and be impressed with the challenges the Adam team have overcome. It’s one of the reasons I’ve stayed with this blog so long. Software and hardware development is arduous; Business development is brutal.

      Regardless of my pre-order disappointment, I will be ordering my Adam at the first opportunity.

    • Richard Cioci said, on December 5, 2010 at 03:06

      yea, same deal, but oh well. I jsut can’t wait to get my hands on the adam, I’ve been following this blog religiously for the past several months. I would almost shout when I saw a new post was up

    • Vic said, on December 5, 2010 at 07:16

      Yep, it’s a bite to follow every week, not feeling that I had anything of value to contribute, but anxiously awaiting the opportunity to order. Oh well, since most of the world doesn’t know anything about the Adam, I guess I can still be an “early adopter”.

    • Clayton Smith said, on December 5, 2010 at 12:06

      I am wondering how many units are available for preorder? i guess if it is 10000 we all should be in with a chance?

    • Michael said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:01

      I cannot wait much longer Rohan!!! I can’t wait for the day to hold my adam in my hands!!! I have been anxiously checking your website and blog for the past week and a half on a daily basis looking for any new news!! Fingers crossed for a pre order!! ;)

    • Tanner said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:08

      ROHAN I know you zoom by two fingers and puttin them on the screen then spreading them out right!?

    • Timothy Brown said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:24

      Hmmm, I can’t remember if I ever posted or just trolled on the site, but I am ready to pre-order no matter what. This is the best looking tablet form factor device bar none.

    • phobs said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:29

      Neato!

    • Austin said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:32

      I hope I make the cut! I have been following this product for almost a year! A lot of thought and care has gone into this product and I would love to enjoy that ASAP!

    • carlos said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:33

      That is pretty uncool I left a comment here and it was deleted …

    • biometer said, on December 5, 2010 at 03:06

      or i am just being paranoid lol it wasn’t deleted

    • Stephen said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:43

      I can’t wait for this. I got my first android phone this past summer (EVO 4G), love it, but even as big as it is, I find It would be even better to have something like the Adam. Just wondering if WiMax will be possible on it?

    • Prasad Pinn said, on December 4, 2010 at 23:53

      I have been holding off buying tablet for some time now…. waiting for Adam.

    • oneport said, on December 5, 2010 at 00:44

      Me too. Since February I have managed to keep the belief that Adam would be the tablet I had envisaged. I will pre-order regardless, I am just happy we are getting so close to actually getting our hands on it!

    • darkwinternights said, on December 5, 2010 at 00:36

      Wow lots of reaction from first commenters – Comments exploded in a day. Not even – like 8 hours really.

      I don’t suspect there will be much of a delay in the pre-orders between NI addicts and everyone else.

      I wonder if by the name thing the remark was referring to Handles (like, your real name), or if it was for “anonymous posters” who just post without registering? I have posted in the past using my real name, not that I would imagine anyone would notice, so I doubt this would have anything to do with anything.

      Just finished all the back reading on the topics Rohan commented – very interesting, especially since I actually knew most of the information, but haven’t made any of the connections to what terms are associated with it (I typically have to process the information before I can name it in my head, which apparently every engineering prof I’ve ever had thought should work the opposite way. :P)

      Look forward to ordering – the question is, can I order more than one at a time? My girlfriend is a lurker and I wanted to get one for her for Xmas, but if I’m limitted to one, I guess that means I’ll (sadly) have to wait for mine as it is the season to be giving. :/

    • Keith said, on December 5, 2010 at 00:59

      This should be worth the wait

    • Steve Myers said, on December 5, 2010 at 01:04

      I have been monitoring the site and blog for months in anticipation of release and hoping for a pre-order or early order opportunity. Although it makes sense for others who have contributed comments to go first, but I hope I will not have to wait too much longer.

    • Gigantor said, on December 5, 2010 at 01:47

      So do you have to be registered at WordPress.com in order to qualify for the pre-booking?

    • Dakuchii said, on December 5, 2010 at 01:48

      Super ! Vivement qu’elle sorte en france !
      (Super! It so strongly in France!)

    • Jeff Paulson said, on December 5, 2010 at 01:58

      This is thrilling! Pre-orders in sight!

      I’m an elementary teacher from Chattanooga, TN and have been following the Notion Ink blog for almost a year now. I am very much looking forward to using an Adam at work and play. I will also be purchasing two Adams for the school to use. (We are always looking for cutting-edge technology that can help our students learn to create and edit their ideas for publishing to a world-wide audience.) I’ve told our school district literacy director (over 89 schools) about the Adam; she is anxious to see how we use it in our school before she invests in it for the district.

      Both my principal and the literacy director have purchased iPads for themselves and have secured money for technology. They wanted to put iPads in schools (as a few schools have already done). I have begged them to hold off until seeing the Adam, but they are getting impatient. It will be worth the wait, I’m sure of it.

      I decided to register over at Notion Addicts after seeing this Google Distribution Map and realizing that Chattanooga is not known for having a Notion Addict in it. There is one, at least! And several of my colleagues are holding off on the iPad until they see the Adam. And now I’m on the map! Very cool! I’m doing my part here in Chattanooga!

    • brandfx said, on December 5, 2010 at 02:01

      see you soon for order….:-)

    • Paul said, on December 5, 2010 at 02:08

      I am thrilled to here the pre-sale will start soon but disappointed I won’t be considered family. I have been watching this site for quite a while but never posted. Had I known it would be needed I would have blogged daily.

    • Satyam Devesh Misra said, on December 5, 2010 at 02:09

      Man i am excited i just I am allowed to preorder

    • martin said, on December 5, 2010 at 02:50

      EXCELLENT!!!! I’ve been waiting for this moment for over a year!

    • Rob Ward said, on December 5, 2010 at 02:51

      Yay! I can’t wait to get one of my own!!

    • Joshua Wilson said, on December 5, 2010 at 04:27

      I’ve been following this story/blog for quite a few months now and I must say that I am very, very, very, very excited about this news. I cannot wait to get my hands on one of these awesome devices.

    • Ajay Avasthi said, on December 5, 2010 at 04:51

      So how do we avail of the pre-order? Will an email be sent to all those who had posted a comment earlier?

    • Will said, on December 5, 2010 at 05:15

      The “Mystery feature ;)” is a touch-pad on the back of the tablet. (thanks a lot Rohan for excluding your non commenting fans from the Pre-Pre-order!)

    • Travis said, on December 5, 2010 at 05:30

      Been waiting forever for this!!! So excited!!

    • Justin said, on December 5, 2010 at 06:13

      Woo-hoo

    • Sinan Hasan said, on December 5, 2010 at 06:19

      I guess we should respect the fact that family comes first, but some of us are just natural listeners. We only write on provocation :-p. Just kidding. Active members getting the first batch, makes the ADAM even more special and conserves its story. Wish you all the best in the final stages!!!!!

      With great respect for product and team

      Sinan

    • Aaron said, on December 5, 2010 at 06:29

      Man I can’t wait to get this thing in my hands!

    • Gelmine said, on December 5, 2010 at 06:29

      I can’t wait to get a hold of this long awaited gadget and show it to all the people known and unknown to me. And if Steve Jobs is around I would show it to him as well.

    • xez said, on December 5, 2010 at 06:33

      I can’t wait until i have one in my hands

    • Joshua L. Davis said, on December 5, 2010 at 07:24

      Very very excellent!!! Thanks for not being Apple ;)

    • eXon said, on December 5, 2010 at 07:40

      very nice! im was waiting for month for this to happen!

    • LuiBlack said, on December 5, 2010 at 07:45

      It’s wonderful!

    • Forest said, on December 5, 2010 at 07:48

      wow this post has more responses than the last one, and i can’t find the leave a reply from the whole post, and sorry guys i give up trying to read everyone, ill just see comments at random.

    • six34sigma said, on December 5, 2010 at 08:22

      Looking forward to a general release. I have been waiting to buy one …. perhaps 2.

    • Eric Bendler said, on December 5, 2010 at 08:46

      I have been waiting and watching since January. I actually work for Tesla Motors here in the US so I am happy to see the Nikola Tesla commentary. I can’t wait to work with an Adam. Go Android!

    • Devarshi said, on December 5, 2010 at 08:52

      OMG :)

      The device of the decade is that much closer to being launched!

    • JayaPrakash said, on December 5, 2010 at 08:59

      Notion and Adam,

      It is a great news to hear that Adam is soon entering the pre-order stage.

    • FJG said, on December 5, 2010 at 09:02

      Yeah!!!

    • manoj said, on December 5, 2010 at 09:08

      Is it coming to Russia, in Russian language support?
      As tablet are bigger than smart phone, are they going to support “office” and PPT!!!
      I am still not sure when I will have Notion Ink in my hand! How long, it is more than year I had been waiting for!!

    • John K said, on December 5, 2010 at 09:18

      Cant wait to order

    • RyanNerd said, on December 5, 2010 at 09:42

      Months of anticipation and it’s finally here. Thanks Rohan and the team!

    • raghu said, on December 5, 2010 at 09:57

      i would like to be the first few to conquer the dream!!!

    • John said, on December 5, 2010 at 10:03

      I am cheering on Notion Ink as they have an awesome combination of features that I can hardly wait to get my hands on! It’s time to dive in and enjoy!

    • Sarathy said, on December 5, 2010 at 10:30

      woohoo!

    • Tim C. said, on December 5, 2010 at 10:59

      Been following since Feb and now first comment would suck that I wouldn’t get an option to pre-order because I don’t comment.

    • Jagpreet Bains said, on December 5, 2010 at 11:29

      Thats great so now we get great gadget and father of Apple

    • iliasmed said, on December 5, 2010 at 14:13

      pls a stylus for writing

  2. noob said, on December 4, 2010 at 13:40

    =)

    • Henry House said, on December 4, 2010 at 18:02

      I guess I am a little confused regarding:
      “I don’t want anyone who follows this blog to wait any more :) . We all are special and should get some extra benefit. The pre-booking will be available only for the ones who have posted a comment on this blog (for a limited period of time), and only after this interval the world will have the access. In short, family first! :) (It also means that those who start commenting NOW, are not counted in this list)”

      I have been following these blogs for a couple months. Posted a question about a month ago, not on the blog but under the contact, possibly on the former website, before much was revealed in response to educational discounts and eligibility.

      Always held the belief that if I do not have something positive to contribute to withhold my words. So I hope I and others possibly in my shoes have not been penalized by lurking rather than making a massive contribution of “ditto” to the blog.

      I am not trying to offend those who choose one word responses and start a flame war.

      I do appreciate the intelligence that goes into this blog uses poems and haikus to keep the readers interests.

      So hopefully I am on the list, guess I will just wait and see.

    • Rtm said, on December 4, 2010 at 21:03

      !

    • nathan giovannoni said, on December 5, 2010 at 07:58

      i want one for xmas

  3. rowan fire said, on December 4, 2010 at 13:40

    <3

  4. billreyn said, on December 4, 2010 at 13:40

    First!

  5. vamsi said, on December 4, 2010 at 13:41

    :)

    • vamsi said, on December 4, 2010 at 13:54

      i will be on that pre order list too.. :)

    • Raj said, on December 4, 2010 at 14:14

      meeeeeeeeeee toooooooooo :)

    • himanshu said, on December 4, 2010 at 14:51

      me tooo :D

    • Jakery said, on December 4, 2010 at 15:24

      me threeee
      how exciting!!!!!

      FAMILY HUG!

    • Breh said, on December 4, 2010 at 19:01

      Me too! … I hope!?… They must be able to use our email address to see how many times we’ve posted.

    • Mglaessgen said, on December 4, 2010 at 19:38

      Hmm. Too bad I seldom post, but often read. Boo hoo. Did we get a preorder date yet. 12/9?

    • 1echo1 said, on December 4, 2010 at 22:24

      Sign me up. Been waiting on this for a LLLLLLooooooooonnnnnnngg time.

    • DarkWinterNights said, on December 5, 2010 at 00:59

      Haha well if they’re only tracking the e-mails, then they’re going to see a number of registered and unregistered ones by a lot of people most likely. It’ll definitately remove a lot of the duplicate aliases (i.e. I originally used to post under my real name in the field type box prior to registering on wordpress explicitly to follow the NI posts and discussions. :P)

    • albert wertz said, on December 4, 2010 at 19:55

      ;)


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,666 other followers

